Unveiling of 173 Gilesgate award

On Saturday 27th April the plaque of the Trust’s Architectural Award for 173 Gilesgate was unveiled. Members of the Trust were invited by the owners to enjoy the extension and the garden, on a day of sunshine. It was interesting to hear the architect explaining how the design was developed.

The full details of this 2022 award can be seen here. It demonstrates how an unashamedly modern addition can complement perfectly an historic house.

173 Gilesgate

Trust’s Architectural Awards – June Asset of the Month

Our featured assets for June 2022 are all the buildings that have been awarded the Trust’s Architectural Award. (See List of assets of the month.)

The purpose of the Trust is to celebrate, protect and enhance the heritage and landscape of the City. The Trust’s Architectural Award is one way in which we celebrate buildings and assets that enhance the heritage and landscape of the City and add community value and enjoyment. Another way we do this are the constructive comments we include in our responses to planning proposals with the aim of improving these proposed developments so they can enhance and add value to our City.

The Architectural Award commenced in 1990, and is an annual award though in some years no award may be made and in others more than one award may be made. The winning buildings are as follows, and a list of the awards is available:

  • Assembly Rooms, The Bailey (2019)
  • Hotel Indigo (formerly Old Shire Hall) (2018)
  • Ogden Centre for Fundamental Physics, University Science Site (2016)
  • The Bowers, end of Waddington Street (2015)
  • Diocesan Office and Resource Centre, Stonebridge and Police HQ, Aykley Heads (2014)
  • 57-59 Crossgate (2013)
  • Eshwin Hall, Esh Winning (2012)
  • World Heritage Visitor Centre, Owengate and Zizi Italian Restaurant, Sadler Street (2011)
  • Railway Station (2009)
  • Freeman’s Quay Leisure Centre (2008)
  • Calman Leaning Centre, University Science Site (2007)
  • Science Learning Centre North East, Framwellgate School (2006)
  • St Brandon’s Church, Brancepeth and the Visual Arts Centre, Sixth Form Centre, The Sands (2005)
  • Highgate (2004)
  • Millennium Place (2002)
  • Cathedrals, Court Lane and Glenmoor Farm, Low Pittington (2001)
  • Nos 2-3 Waddington Street (1999)
  • Burn Hall (1998)
  • Harrison and Harrison Organ Factory, Meadowfield Industrial Estate (1997)
  • Aykley Heads House (1996)
  • Claypath Medical practice and Methodist Chapel, Carrville (1995)
  • St John’s Church, Nevilles Cross (1994)
  • Fellows’ Garden building, University College (1993)
  • Burn House and extension, New Elvet (1992)
  • St Anthony’s Chapel, Claypath (1991)
  • Nos 86-88A Claypath (1990)

The details of each award is given on the Awards section of the website with a link to the Bulletin or Annual Report where details of the winning building and other candidates can also be found.

Prof Timothy Clark, a trustee of the City of Durham Trust, has edited a booklet ‘The City of Durham Trust Architectural Awards 1990-2009’, of 64 pages with 52 colour illustrations, which is available for purchase from the Trust’s online shop.

The winners of the award are an eclectic group, covering new builds and renovations of old buildings; residential, commercial, public and religious buildings. The criteria that matter are the quality of the design and its implementation, and a positive contribution to the setting and context. In recent years the Trust has extended its coverage to parts of buildings, other architectural features, and green infrastructure.